You are currently viewing who has won the most Spanish La Liga titles?

who has won the most Spanish La Liga titles?

  • Post category:Football
  • Reading time:5 mins read
  • Post last modified:December 4, 2022

Disclosure: Sportshubnet is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.

La Liga is a competition with an intense history, let’s check out the teams with most La Liga titles in the history of the game.

A total of 62 teams contested in La Liga history and out of the 9 teams have been crowned the Champions of Spain. Real Madrid has won the most La Liga titles in the history of the Spanish competition. Real Madrid has won 34 La Liga titles with Barcelona 26.

Real Madrid is one of the most commanding team in the history of La Liga. Real Madrid is the most followed team across the world. Real Madrid was dominated La Liga for consecutive three decades in the 20th century.

Real Madrid has historically been a predominant force in Spanish League

It all started During the 1940s when the clubs like Valencia, Atletico Madrid, and Barcelona began as the biggest clubs in La Liga, winning numerous titles during the course of the time.

In the 1950s Real Madrid came up with Barcelona and dominated the league. Both teams winning four league titles during the decade. During the 1960s and 1970s, Real Madrid completely owned La Liga winning 14 La Liga titles, which is completely insane compared to Atlético Madrid who won four titles during that period.

In the 1980s and 1990s, Real Madrid was leading in La Liga titles as compared to the other teams in Spanish League.

Barcelona excelled Real Madrid in La Liga over the past decade

Barcelona is completely on another level over the past decade. The arrivals of the players like Lionel Messi, Ronaldinho, Iniesta, and Xavi completely change the face of the Barcelona in La Liga.

Barcelona has outdone Real Madrid in La Liga and has a stronghold on La Liga trophy over the past decade. Barcelona won the Spanish league 6 times out of 10 and always has an edge over Real Madrid in the league.

Barcelona has won an unbelievable 10 of its total 26 league titles in the 21st century. The most contemporary club other than Real Madrid and Barcelona to win the league title is Atletico Madrid who won La Liga in the 2013-14 season.

Real Madrid recently won the La Liga title in the 2019/20 season and they are looking to win it back to back in 2020/21.

Real Madrid is currently at the top of the La Liga table with 10 points and will have the possibility to extend their lead when they face Getafe in their upcoming match.

Here are the list of most successful clubs in La Liga history:

Club with most La Liga TitlesLa Liga WinnersLa Liga Runners-up
Real Madrid3423
Atlético Madrid1010
Athletic Bilbao87
Real Sociedad23
Deportivo La Coruña15
Real Betis10
Racing Santander01
Las Palmas01
Sporting Gijón01

Kamran Khan

A geek, who just loves to update sports, gaming, and tech updates from around the world to the other geeks out there. A passionate sports lover, a tech geek from the mind, and a gamer from the heart. Be will not go anywhere... That's how we create content for you!

Leave a Reply